If you entered incorrect information or wish to use a different service, you may wish to remove your account information.
How do I clear/deactivate the return to start over?
To remove the information from our site and start over, you will need to clear your return. To do so, please use the pathway below:
- My Account
- Transaction History
- Deactivate Tax Return- must select a reason
This deactivation removes your personal information that you have entered on your return except for your e-mail address which is tied to your Username.
Why do I get message "No tax returns eligible for deactivation"?
Your return cannot be cleared if it has already been e-filed, regardless of whether or not it was rejected, or if the tax preparation fees have been paid.
How do I delete my account?
Deletion of an account is the complete removal from our system. The request must be in writing and come from within your account. You will need to log into the account and send us an email requesting the deletion using the Help & Support tab.
Deletion requests may take up to 24 hours to complete. We recommend you log into the account and download any information you need prior to entering the deletion request.
If you no longer wish to receive marketing emails, use the Unsubscribe link to be removed from our marketing list.
Why can't my account be deleted?
If your account has an e-filed return, whether it was rejected or accepted, the account cannot be deleted. Accounts that have prior year accepted or rejected e-filed returns also cannot be deleted. The IRS requires we retain this information for a period of 3 years after the tax filing year. After the three years have passed, the information will be removed from our servers automatically.